Sooners dominate all-conference team

(Photo by Jay Beuchamp)

By Michael Kinney

During the 2018 season, Oklahoma produced one of the one explosiveness offenses in recent history. Averaging more than 50 points a game and 584 yards, they were nearly unstoppable.

So it was no surprise when the Big 12 Conference announced its all-conference team and awards, the offensive side was littered with Sooners.

Oklahoma racked up a league-high 11 All-Big 12 First- or Second Team selections, as the conference announced its football awards Wednesday. Selections were made by the league’s coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own players.

In addition, coach Lincoln Riley, quarterback Kyler Murray, kicker Austin Seibert and offensive lineman Dru Samia each claimed individual honors.

Murray was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, the fourth consecutive such award for the Sooners and eighth overall. Seibert was voted the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year, Samia was one of three Big 12 Offensive Linemen of the Year and Riley was named the Big 12 Co-Coach of the Year.

Oklahoma’s seven first-team selections were all on offense. Along with Seibert, Murray and Samia, they included Marquise Brown, Grant Calcaterra, OU senior left guard Ben Powers and redshirt junior right tackle Cody Ford.

Murray, who was a unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selection, joins Baker Mayfield (2015 and 2017), Dede Westbrook (2016), Sam Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Josh Heupel (2000) as OU winners of the league’s top offensive player honor.

On Wednesday, Murray was named a finalist for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. That goes along with already being a finalist for the Maxwell Award and the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

Murray is the only player to ever average at least 300.0 passing yards (306.2) and at least 60 rushing yards (71.1) through college football’s regular season. The junior from Allen, Tx. leads the nation in yards per pass attempt (12.0) and yards per completion (17.0) and is while second in total touchdowns (48), passing TDs (37) and passing efficiency rating (206.8).

“When you play quarterback, your job is to deliver the ball from the pocket,” Murray said. “When stuff breaks down I have the ability to make something happen.”

Redshirt senior fullback Carson Meier, sophomore kick returner Tre Brown and sophomore linebacker Kenneth Murray earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors.

Kenneth Murray has started all 12 games at middle linebacker and leads the Sooners with 133 total tackles, OU’s highest single-season total in 10 years. He has also registered 11.5 tackles for loss and 4.0 sacks, along with three QB hurries and a pair of pass breakups. He has tallied double-digit tackles in eight games this season, all in the last 10 outings, and averages 12.1 stops per contest in the last 11 contests.

According to OU, Oklahoma has placed at least four players on the All-Big 12 First Team every season since 2000.

Michael Kinney is a Freelance Content Provider

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: